top of page

Maui = Love

Aloha!

If you couldn't tell by the title of this blog, I absolutely love Maui! Crystal clear waters with gradients of blue, warm soft sand between my toes & the Aloha spirit every time I visit makes this an island I will always dream about & long for. At one time I had wanted to move to Hawaii. Unfortunately, when I went to Oahu it resembled Los Angeles with beautiful beaches. No offense against L.A., but I wanted something with much more Aloha & much less mainland. I was 18 & I passed judgement on the island chain as a whole based on my experience in Oahu. It wasn't a bad experience. It just didn't live up to my expectations.

A few years later I had the trip that would forever change my perspective of Hawaii, namely Maui. What was meant to be a girls trip, which I ruined thankfully, turned out to be the best vacation I had ever had. Jason was my boyfriend at the time. He had gone to Maui multiple times before me with one of his good friends. To me, in my 20something old mind, he seemed like a perfect person to bring. Hello! Tour guide?! Turns out it wasn't such a good idea to my "friends". No matter. We ended up getting a separate room away from them. Thank the Lord for that too because I would have had to share a bed with one of the girls. No thanks!

I could go on for days about Maui but I will highlight a few. First is Lahaina! Touristy yes, but it reminds me of Downtown Huntington Beach in a way cooler area. It has an artsy vibe mingled in with a bar scene. Then there is Dave who I have often seen sitting on the breaker wall making hats using palm leaves. He actually climbs up the tree and grabs the palm fronds to make his creations. Amazing! Jason says he has seen him for years! Lahaina is also home to the first reef wave I have ever surfed. Peaky, crystal clear & warm is all I ask for in a wave. Is it really all that hard? Not in Maui it isn't. Every time I have surfed in Maui, I look behind me in awe of the emerald beauty of the majestic mountains that make up the island. Sometimes I would pinch myself to make sure I was truly awake.

Next is Hana & the 7 sacred pools. The road to Hana is a sketchy one but is also the most beautiful. The Lahaina side is considered the desert side for it's lack of greenery compared to the Hana side. Hana is all lush, green forest with many waterfalls along the way. You have to hike to all of the waterfalls but there are a few that are not too far away. There really isn't much along the way to Hana except for a few food shacks & a really expensive hotel. The Ritz I believe. The real gem is when you finally make it to the 7 sacred pools. You cross a bridge & park, then walk down to one of the lower pools where you can jump in & swim. Each pool dumps into the next until the last fades into the ocean. There are signs posted to watch out for men in grey suits (Great White Sharks) so swimming past the pools isn't recommended. Besides, the sea in that area is extremely rough so it is ill advised anyway.

If water & beaches are not your thing, you have to check out Haleakala on the East side of Maui. This volcano sits at 10,023 feet. It is dormant so don't expect to see any flowing lava like on the Big Island. When you reach the top, it is barren. Literally void of life except for the people who make the drive up. The view is remarkable. Your view is practically 360 degrees around the island. You feel so remote - and cold. Yes, cold. Bring a jacket, socks, shoes and maybe even a thermal. If it were to rain, it would probably get a dusting of snow. You will find an Observatory at the top as well, although I do not believe it is open to the public. If you are the hiking type, there are plenty of trails that will take you into the crater of the volcano. It is a steep decline & incline, so make sure you are prepared and bring plenty of water. There isn't any food or water stations available.

The west side of the island is also considered the windy side of the island. It is a windy road with very little in the way of food or water. Except for a small shack when you come up one side of a mountain. If I were you, I would stop. They have dried fruit, candied fruit, nuts & bread. A family owns and runs this tiny shack so I would rather give my money to them than a grocery store. If I lived on Maui, I'd probably be there at least once a week. It is that good. Seriously. Unfortunately I do not have the name of the shack or even a picture. It is hard to miss though. It is on a corner after you pass this section of the island in the picture below.

This past November, I had the extraordinary experience of watching one of my best friends get married in Maui @ Duke's Restaurant. It was so beautiful with the gorgeous blue water in the background, gradually fading into the colors of the fire-orange sunset towards the end of the ceremony. Tiki torches being lit as the sun began to set really set the mood for the event. Celebrating one of the most memorable moments in my friends life in such a breathtaking setting is something I will cherish forever. This only adds to the growing list of magic Maui holds in my heart. One thing we did for Jill's bachelorette party was go to what the locals consider "Maui Country". They have a whole rustic vibe, cowboy theme going on this side of the island. A winery called Ulupalakua is where we stopped. It was so good. I wish they sold outside of Hawaii. Sadly they do not. If you ever get the opportunity to go there, try their pineapple wine. I know when we go there again, I am bringing a few bottles back home with me. They will give a group tour of their production area with a brief history about the farm. It is actually really neat. The farmers & their families get to live on the land free of charge as long as they work at Ulupalakua. There is a very rich history about this farm as well. Then directly across the street from the winery is a food shack with cowboy non-essentials for the home. It is called Ulupalakua Ranch Store. Don't let the shack vibe fool you, the food is tasty! I wanted to bring Jason up there before we left but we ran out of time. Basically, anytime you come near a food shack & are hungry, stop! Some of the best food comes from these small, hole in the wall type places. It is where you will get to taste the real flavors of the island.

I can honestly go on about all of the amazing things to see and do while on the island. If I cannot communicate it enough - stop, slow down & enjoy all the island has to offer. From waking up to the crashing waves on the sand to the breathtaking sunsets at dinner, from swimming with the sea turtles to being on top of the world at Haleakala, coming to this island will not be something you regret. I hope you get to experience the love and magic I feel from this Island. If I had the money, I'd buy a condo on the water here just so I can guarantee myself a trip at least a few times a year. If you have any questions or want a more extensive list on where to go and what to see, let me know! I can never tire of talking about Maui!

Mahalo!

Brittany Bowman

Save

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page