top of page

Healthy Chocolate Chip Muffins


Hello Friends,

I am so EXCITED to share this recipe with you! As you know, I have been on a no gluten, dairy, soy lifestyle for a little over a month now. If you didn't know, well SURPRISE! You know now! :) When I first started thinking about going this route to save my health, I became a little depressed - I'm not going to lie. I LOVE food! I mean...honestly...it is a problem. Bread, Cheese, Desserts, Sushi...the list goes on. Bread is my crutch though. It is so bad that I will choose a restaurant over another if I know they serve free bread. It is kinda ridiculous! But the realization is that food is actually hurting my body.

So now that I am eating ZERO gluten, that leaves bread out of the equation for sure! That means no bagels, no muffins, no nothing! Or so I thought! I have been having a BLAST learning how to make classic recipes with a few simple and extremely healthy ingredients! This Muffin recipe I found from Pinterest here, if you want to see the original post, is from StockpilingMoms. These women know a thing or two about substituting for us "picky" eaters! These muffins came out way better than I imagined! Of course, I do what I always do when I find an award-winning, husband approving recipe...I come on here and I share it with you! Because that is what friends do - sharing is caring! :)

Here are the things you will need to make this DELICIOUS recipe:

Servings: 6 per batch (You should have enough ingredients to make 2 batches.)

Ingredients

1 cup - All Natural Peanut Butter (I used Earth Balance Creamy Pb from Whole Foods)

2 Medium Banana's

2 Large Eggs

1/2 tsp. of baking soda

1 tsp. of Apple Cider Vinegar (I used Braggs Organic)

2 TBS. of Honey (Optional) (I used Honey Pacifica Sage Honey)

Splash of Vanilla (Optional) (non-alcoholic)

Mini-Chocolate Chips (Optional) (I used Enjoy Life Semi-Sweet mini Chocolate Chips)

Utensils & Cookware

Blender

Spatula

6 Cup Cupcake Pan

Foiled Cupcake Liners

Toothpicks

Directions

1.) Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

2.) In a blender, mix all of your ingredients, except for the chocolate chips.

3.) Scrape down the sides and blend one more time, making sure the mixture is smooth.

4.) Pour a generous amount of chocolate chips into mixture (maybe about 1 cup) and mix with your

spatula until they are incorporated throughout the mixture. (DO NOT BLEND!)

5.) Place foiled cupcake liners into the cupcake pan, filling each cup close to the top. If you have any

batter left over, fill the cups that need a little more.

6.) Grab a few more chocolate chips and sprinkle them over the top of each muffin to your desired

tastes.

7.) Place into oven and bake for 20 to 30 minutes depending on your oven. To check to see if they

are done, use a toothpick in the center of the muffin and see if it comes out clean. If it still

has batter on it, leave it in for a few more minutes before checking again.

8.) Once done, let cool slightly before pulling them out of the tin and placing them on a cooling

rack. At this point, you can leave the foiled cupcake liner on the muffins until you are ready to

eat them.

9.) Enjoy!

I chose to use the optional ingredients because those 3 together just sound divine! You could totally try this recipe without these optional ingredients and I am sure they would still taste just as delicious but I love chocolate so there was no passing that up! Definitely keep an eye on them while baking. If you know your oven cooks fast, you may need to adjust the baking time. My oven is ancient so it doesn't cook as evenly or as fast as I would like.

Also for the optional ingredients, you can use apple chunks, walnuts, etc. This recipe is very versatile in what you can use for your "toppings". I found with the size jars I purchased from Whole Foods that I could get a total of 2 batches with this recipe for 12 muffins total. If you have a big family, or want to take these to a party, just double up the recipe. The first batch I made I placed in the fridge. The second batch I just left on the counter. Either way, I couldn't tell the difference. If you know you are not going to eat these within a few days, I would definitely put a couple in the freezer for later.

Not that anyone has asked, but I think it is important to say, I am not affiliated nor receive any kind of commissions if you purchase the brands that I suggested. These were honestly just the brands I grabbed and tried. I personally like everything I picked up and will purchase these items again, but no - I do not make money from suggesting them.

I hope you enjoy these muffins! When my husband and I finished off the first batch, he was practically begging me to make them again. That is just proof they are good!

Let me know either in the comments below or through social media how you enjoyed these muffins!

Have a blessed day y'all!!!

Mahalo!

Brittany Bowman

"I like hashtags because they look like waffles." - Anonymous

Save

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page