top of page

Back Into Yoga

Aloha!

I feel more accomplished today than I have in quite some time. Today I finished a full 1 hour routine of Vinyasa. This is something I have not done in quite awhile. Let me tell y'all, I am out of shape! Whew! My muscles were crying from a few poses. My muscles are so wound up from inactivity they decided they wanted to make it known they weren't happy. But I pushed through. It wasn't pain I was feeling but more a good long stretch you feel from a tight muscle. It was a good kind of pain! I am happy I chose to do this week of yoga first before diving right into an exercise regimen. It is going to help me loosen up & activate any tight muscles like in my lower back and hamstrings. I promise you I will feel these moves tomorrow.

I was going to post my yoga routine I used this evening but I am not very happy with it. I am in certain areas but others need work. There are a few transitions I went through where, if done incorrectly, could cause injury to your joints. I am so out of practice that I needed to do a practice round with the routine to spot the flaws. So I will be tweaking a few areas and trying the revised routine tomorrow. If I am happy with it, I will post it here under Yoga. I was also going to post my Vinyasa music playlist but as I was listening to it, there were a few songs I want to take out and put in. Again, I'll be posting it tomorrow after I make a few adjustments. Bare with me! :) All in all, I am still happy I made it through a full round. It feels good to just move again. And that Savasana was the killer! If your a yogi, you know what I'm talkin' aboot!

Can I just say - yoga and candlelight are a match made in yoga heaven! Seriously! I haven't experienced that level of relaxation in a loooong time. What is it about candlelight that is so soothing? And music as the added touch! It's like the perfect trio (music, candlelight & yoga) decided to have a meeting and said, "let's get together & flow in perfect harmony!" Then poof! A

miracle happened and we have been gifted with an hour of synchronization of the most perfect elements. I'll probably wait for night to come to do yoga just so I can light my candles and strike a pose in the dark. If you are reading this and have never experienced yoga by candlelight, stop what you are doing! Right this minute! And roll out a mat, or towel, or whatever you find & light up a few candles. Even if you just lie down in corpse pose! Just do it! You'll see what I'm talking about! It is FABULOUS! Oh, and cue up some music. Preferably relaxing, melodic music.

MAHALO!

Brittany Bowman

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page