top of page

Yoga Sequence - Arm Support

Aloha Friends!

I cannot believe how incredibly sore I am from yoga on Monday. Sheesh! During my warm up, I though Chaturanga was going to kill me! I could hardly hold myself up. After revising my sequence yesterday, I decided to completely scrap it and start all over. I really want to focus on arms right now because I feel it is where I am the weakest. So many poses depend on the strength of our arms. I would like to pursue many of the poses requiring arm support like inversions so I really want to place an emphasis on strengthening these weak limbs. I did employ the help of one of my books I picked up while I was in Yoga Teacher Training. It is called "Yoga Sequencing" by Mark Stephens. If you want a more in depth understanding about the art of yoga sequencing, I would highly suggest this book. As promised, here is the sequence I put together and will be following for the rest of the week. Honestly, this is a sequence I will be putting into my saved file. I may tweak it here and there as I go along, but I really enjoyed this flow.

Warm Up - (15 min.)

Corpse Pose - Ujjayi breathing (2-3 mins.)

Happy Baby (Ananda Balasana)

Supine Spinal Twist (Supta Jaratha Parivartanasana)(Left/Right)

Rock to sitting, massaging along the spine

Table Top (Bharmanasana)

Cat/Cow (Marjaryasana/Bitilasana)

Gate Pose (Parighasana)(Left/Right)

Urdhva Mukha Pasasana A (Right/Left)

Down Dog (Adho Mukha Svanasana)

Classical Surya Namaskara (2x)

Surya Namaskara A (2x)

Surya Namaskara B (2x)

Healthy Wrist Sequence: Tadasana Wrist Therapy, Uttanasana wrist

pratikriyasana, Wrist pumps, Anjali Mudra & Hand Dance.)

Flow - (10 min)

Warrior 2 (Virabhadrasana 2)

Extended Side Angle (Utthita Parsvakonasana)

Extended Triangle (Utthita Trikonasana)

Warrior 2 (Virabhadrasana 2)

Mountain Pose (Tadasana)

Eagle Pose Prep (Garudasana Prep)

Eagle Pose (Garudasana)

Mountain Pose (Tadasana)

Wide Legged Forward Bend C (Prasarita Padottanasana C)

Tree Pose - Vriksasana

Surya Namaskara A

(Repeat Left Side)

(Repeat 2x)

Child's Pose (Balasana)

Peak Pose - (12 min)

Thunderbolt Pose (Vajrasana)

Wrist Therapy: Tadasana Wrist Therapy, Anjali Mudra & Hand Dance.

Down Dog (Adho Mukha Svanasana)

Plank (Phalakasana)

Side Plank (Vasisthasana Prep) (If you have wrist problems, use your forearms)

Advanced Side Plank (Vasisthasana)

Four-Limbed staff pose (Chaturanga Dandasana)

Upward-facing dog (Urdhva Mukha Svanasana)

Downdog (Adho Mukha Svanasana)

(Repeat Left side)

(Repeat 2x)

Child's Pose (Balasana)

Counter Pose - (7 min)

Locust Pose (Salabhasana A) (3x)

Cobra Pose (Bhujangasana) (2x)

Bow Pose (Dhanurasana) (2x)

Child's Pose (Balasana)

Prone Posture - (7 min)

Urdhva Mukha Pasasana (Right/Left)

Seated Eagle (Upavishta Garudasana) (Right/Left)

Bharadvaja's Twist (Bharadvajrasana 1) (Right/Left)

Half Spinal Twist Pose (Ardha Matsyendrasana)

Gate Pose (Parighasana)

Seated Forward Bend (Paschimottanasana)

Plow Pose (Halasana)

Shoulder stand (Salamba Sarvangasana)

Fish Pose (Matsyasana)

Cool Down - (4 min)

Supine Spinal Twist (Supta Jaratha Parivartanasana) (Right/Left)

Happy Baby

Savasana (5 min) (Corpse Pose)

Caution/Tips:

Never go beyond your limits.

There are variations to most poses for beginners or those with wrist/knee pain.

If you do not know a pose, look it up and read about the easier variations.

When in doubt, don't do the pose.

The Best tip I have is to take a beginning Vinyasa class. These classes will instruct you in a safe environment how to flow through various poses, going in depth on how to do each pose safely.

Side Note: Yoga is such a great exercise to loosen tight muscles, build strength & burn fat. Through the Ujjayi breathing, you are actually preparing your body to warm up your muscles by filling your body with oxygen. It is also a great way to clear your mind and get into the flow. It is a gentle way to work through any injuries you may have. (I would advise doing this under an experienced yoga instructor with a strong working knowledge of anatomy & injuries.)

If you are interested in my playlist, I have included the link here.

Namaste!

Brittany Bowman


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page