top of page

Buddha Bowl


Hi There!

I have found one of thee most delicious recipes that is not only healthy but extremely filling. If you can imagine your favorite assortment of baked vegetables, your favorite seasonings, and a side of couscous with a sunny side up egg then you just imagined a Buddha Bowl!

Let me tell you why this has become one of my new favorite recipes. It is so simple! It is quick AND it makes for great leftovers. I know many of you do not enjoy leftovers - I am part of that tribe - BUT in an effort to save money and not waste food, I have been embracing leftovers. There are some things I just will not do when it comes to leftovers like poke - or any seafood for that matter, hamburgers (they just taste better fresh off the grill), hot-dogs, and the list goes on.

This I will do. This recipe will make enough for leftovers for breakfast, lunch AND dinner...for two! That's how filling this meal is. A little goes a long way. The only thing I would make fresh is the sunny side up egg. Like I said, some things I will just not do when it comes to leftovers. With that said...THE RECIPE!

Ingredients:

1 - Medium Butternut Squash; peeled and cubed

4 - Red potatoes; cubed

10 - Brussels Sprouts; halved

2 - Sweet Onions; cut into wedges

1 - Small Red Cabbage, cut into wedges

4 cloves - garlic, diced

1 - Avocado

4 - Eggs, cooked sunny side up

1 Box - Couscous (plain or flavored)

Olive Oil

Himalayan Sea Salt (Iodized)

Seasonings of choice (I used basil, oregano, turmeric powder, and pepper)

Large Baking Sheet

Pan for eggs

Small pot for couscous

Directions:

1.) Preheat your oven to 400*.

2.) Coat the bottom of the pan with Olive Oil or cooking spray.

3.) Prepare all of your vegetables (minus the avocado).

4.) Lay all of the vegetables out flat on your baking sheet.

5.) Drizzle all of the veggies with Olive Oil until they are all lightly coated.

6.) Season to your tastes and sprinkle the fresh diced garlic evenly over all of your veggies.

7.) Place in oven for 40 minutes or until everything is cooked through.

8.) 10 minutes before veggies are done, prepare the couscous per the package directions.

9.) While couscous is cooking, cook eggs sunny side up (Or however you enjoy your eggs).

10.) Cut Avocado in half, then cut into slices.

11.) Prepare by placing a side of veggies and a small portion of couscous on the plate. Lay 2 eggs

and a few avocado slices over the top of the veggie mixture.

12.) Enjoy!

Side Note: I could never be so original as to think this up on my own. If you want to see the original source where I found this recipes, go to: http://www.yummymummykitchen.com/2016/11/sheet-pan-winter-buddha-bowls-with.html

2nd Side Note: You can use whatever vegetables you like. If there are any you do not like in this recipe, just swap them. Personally, next time I will swap cabbage for zucchini because Jason wasn't crazy for the cabbage. Try different variations to suit your tastes. That is another reason why I love this dish - it is so versatile!

Let me know how you like this recipe if you try it for yourself!

Until next time!

Mahalo!

Brittany Bowman XOXO

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page