top of page

Cucumber Tuna Salad w/ Avocado-Coconut-Lime Dressing


Aloha!

After posting this on Facebook and Instagram, so many of you wanted the recipe for the dressing. While the salad itself is pretty easy and straight forward, there are a few more ingredients that go into the dressing.

This salad was honestly so refreshing in that summery, I just need something cooling, way. It was pretty warm outside and cooking was not going to be on my radar. This house was baking enough as it was.

What I love about this salad is that it is just so EASY to throw together. Not to mention QUICK and HEALTHY! OH...and before I forget - DELICIOSO! The dressing itself added that perfect creamy, almost ranch-like consistency the salad needed. A little bit of garlic, a little bit of lime, and a whole-lotta avocado! The coconut yogurt is the star in this show as it is the one thing adding the creaminess to this dressing. If you are allergic to coconut, or just prefer to use something else, you can use Greek yogurt.

Another great thing about this salad, as if there wasn't enough already, is that it is very filling! A little goes a long way. You wouldn't think a few cucumbers and a little bit of tuna would fill you up, but with the protein from the fish & the added fat from the avocado, you will. This salad-dressing combo is a perfect nutritional power house. You have healthy fats, proteins, fiber, active live cultures from the coconut for probiotics (healthy gut flora please!), and numerous vitamins and nutrients.

Now, since this was literally my first time making this recipe - here are the things I would change. I would swap the tuna for salmon. This entire dish was HUSBAND APPROVED! That means this is going on our list of "meals to make again" in the future. With the high content of mercury found in tuna, it is just a safer bet to swap it out with salmon. Not only that, both Jason and I prefer Salmon.

For the dressing, I would add an extra lime. I like things "lime-y". I don't know why. Fish tacos, give me extra limes! Lime Tortilla Chips? Yes Please! Maybe it is because it reminds me so much of vacationing in tropical locations? I'm channeling Cancun right now. I would also hold back on adding too much salt. I tend to be heavy handed, what can I say? Salt can easily be added to the dressing after it is already on your plate to suit your tastes.

So without further adieu, the recipe!

Serves 4

Ingredients:

Salad

2 - Cucumbers, peeled, quartered, then cut into 1/2" pieces.

1 - Can of sliced olives

A few hand fulls of Romaine Lettuce, roughly chopped.

1 - Large pack of Tuna or Salmon in water.

Dressing

2 - Avocados, peeled

1 - Lime, juiced

2 Cloves - Garlic, peeled

1/2 Cup - Coconut Yogurt (or Greek Yogurt)

1/4 Cup - Cilantro, roughly chopped

3 Tbsp - Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

1/3 cup water (Optional)

Directions

1.) Put together all of the ingredients for the salad and place in the fridge for 30 minutes to chill

everything together.

2.) In a blender, add everything for the dressing except for the salt. Blend until everything is

smooth and creamy. Add up to 1/3 cup of water until you get the consistency you desire.

3.) Taste and add salt as needed.

4.) Once you are done blending, place in the fridge for 20 to 30 minutes to chill the dressing.

5.) Enjoy!

Tips:

* Add an extra lime or two depending on how much you like lime.

* Switch the tuna for salmon for a healthier option.

* You can keep it for up to 2 days.

* Keep the dressing and salad separate to keep the romaine from getting soggy.

* Add salt to taste to the dressing so you do not over salt it.

* This makes enough for 2 for both lunch and dinner.

* If following AIP, omit the pepper if you have not reintroduced it yet.

As much as my husband and I enjoyed this recipe, I hope you do as well. If you do make this recipe, let me know how much you enjoyed it in the comments below!

God Bless!

Mahalo!

Brittany Bowman

"Fitness is 20% exercise and 80% nutrition. You cannot out run your fork." - Anonymous

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page